

Scientific Division (SD)

Chair Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT

Clinical Chemist Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry Leiden University Medical Center 2300 RC Leiden – THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: <u>C.M.Cobbaert@lumc.nl</u> Vice-Chair

Dr. Konstantinos MAKRIS Clinical Biochemist Clinical Biochemistry Department KAT General Hospita Kifissia, Athens - GREECE E-mail: kostas.makris.km@gmail.com

Secretary Prof. Garry JOHN Department of Clinical Biochemistry and Immunology Norrolk and Norwich University Hospital Norwich NRA 7UY - UK E-mail: gjohn@nhs.net

Members

Dr. Barnali DAS Lead Consultant, Biochemistry & Immunology Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital & Medical Research Institute, Mumbai-400053 - INDIA E-mail: drbarnalid@gmail.com

Dr. Vincent DELATOUR Research Director Bioanalysis Laboratoire National de Métrologie et d'Essais (LNE) 1, Gaston Boissier 75724 Paris - FRANCE E-mail: vincent.delatour@lne.fr E-mail: vincent.delatour@Ine.fr

Dr. Hubert VESPER Director, Clinical Standardization Programs Chief, Protein Biomarker and Lipid Reference Laboratory Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Atlanta, GA 30341 - USA E-mail: hav2@cdc.gov: HVesper@cdc.gov

Dr. Saara T. WITTFOOTH

Dr. Saara I. WITTFOOTH Assistant Professor of Biotechnology Department of Life Technologies Faculty of Technology 20014 University of Turku - FINLAND E-mail: saara.wittfooth@utu.fi

Corporate Representative

Dr. Christian Vogl Team Lead Immunoassay Development Indication Area Lead Anemia, Bonemarker and Roche Diagnostics GmbH 82377 Penzberg – GERMANY E-mail: <u>christian.vogl.cv1@roch</u>

Bureau International des Poids et BIPM Observer

Dr. Ralf D. JOSEPHS Principal Chemist Pavillon de Breteuil 92312 Sèvres Cedex - FRANCE E-mail: ralf.josephs@bipm.c

European Commission -JRC Observer Dr. Liesbet DEPREZ Project Officer Directorate General Joint Research Centre Reference Materials Unit 2440 Geel – BELGIUM E-mall: Liesbet.deprez@ec.europa.eu

ICHCLR Observer Prof. Ian S. YOUNG Professor of Medicine Queen's University Belfast The Center for Public Health 1st floor - ICS B block Royal Victoria Hospital BT12 GBJ - Belfast - UK E-mail: I.Young@qub.ac.uk

JCTLM Consultant

Dr. Greg MILLER Professor of Pathology Co-Director of Pathology Director of Pathology Information Systems Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Richmond, VA 23298-0266 - USA E-mail: greg.miller@vcuhealth.org

NIBSC Consultant Dr. Chris BURNS PhD

Head, Biotherapeutics Division National Institute for Biological Standards and Control A Centre of the MHRA Hertfordshire, EN6 3QG, UK E-mail: Chris.Burns@nibsc.org

NIFDC Observer Dr. Yang ZHEN Deputy Director General National Institutes for Food and Drug Controls (NIFDC) - P.R. CHINA E-mail: <u>yangzhen@nifdc.org.cn</u>

NIST Consultant Dr. Karen W. PHINNEY Leader, Bioanalytical Science Group Biomolecular Measurement Division National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8314 - USA E-mail: karen.phinney@nist.gov SD - Letterhead - Rev. 25 - January 2023 (effective until further revision)

Prof. Christa Cobbaert - IFCC SD Chair From:

November 13th, 2023 Date

Ref: 8.2.25 Call for Nominations for Membership of Committee on Standardization of Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT)

To: IFCC Full Member Societies' National Representatives **IFCC Affiliate Societies' Representatives IFCC Corporate Members' Representatives**

Dear Colleagues,

The Committee on Standardization of Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT), under the chairmanship of Dr. Katleen Van Uytfanghe, intends to fill two vacant position.

Terms of Reference

- Establish a system to maintain traceability of free thyroid hormone and TSH measurements.
- Coordinate programs to evaluate free thyroid and TSH assays with regards to • their analytical performance.
- Develop reference intervals for free thyroid hormones and TSH. •
- Liaise with key stakeholders to promote the use of the standardized assays in • routine clinical practice and public health, to ensure analytical performance requirements meet clinical needs, and to help with developing and establishing reference intervals

Current Projects

- Establishment of a reference laboratory network for FT4.
- Develop and establish follow-up panel for TSH.
- Collaborate with relevant organizations to ensure that free thyroid hormones and • TSH are standardized consistently.
- Collaborate with stakeholders to define reference populations and plan study to • establish reference intervals.
- Provide information and training to stakeholders about the importance of standardized thyroid function assays, and support organizations working on promoting high quality of thyroid function tests.

Information on the current composition of the C-STFT and its activities are available on the IFCC Website at following link: https://www.ifcc.org/ifcc-scientific-division/sdcommittees/c-stft/

More specific information can be obtained directly from Dr. Katleen Van Uytfanghe (Katleen.VanUytfanghe@UGent.be).

Candidates would share their knowledge and expertise and assist in the design and execution of projects related to the terms of reference. This includes participation in conference calls (2-3 times per year), in in-person meetings at least once per year, and other forms of communications such as email.

Nominations should be sent directly to the IFCC Office (paola.bramati@ifcc.org) by January 10th, 2024, providing following documents:

- Society/Corporate Member support letter to the nomination;
- Candidate curriculum vitae; _
- Completed enclosed application form. _

Following approval, the candidates will be appointed for a three-year term (2024-2026). A second three-year term is allowed following satisfactory review at the end of the first term by the Scientific Division Executive Committee following consultation with the C-STFT Chairman.

Yours sincerely

Prof. Christa Cobbaert

ower

Chair IFCC Scientific Division